For a world free of hazardous chemicals

A catalyst for change

ChemSec - bridging the gap between regulators, business, investors, NGOs and science


A well-functioning authorisation process drives innovation

The authorisation process

Find the latest updates for ChemSec's authorisation work


28 new SIN List chemicals to start acting on

28 new SIN chemicals to start acting on

Additional 28 chemicals identified as Substances of Very High Concern and included on the SIN List


Our new tool SINimilarity


Search among 80,000 chemicals to find out if they are similar to the chemicals on the SIN List!


The SIN List divided into 31 groups

31 SIN groups

The SIN List is divided into 31 groups based on structural similarity which in turn can be linked to toxicological effects.


Financial investors taking action

Sustainable investments avoiding hazardous chemicals

Concrete tools for investors wanting to avoid the risks of investing in high concern chemicals


Nine New POPs – Amendments of Stockholm Convention enter into force on 26 August 2010

In May 2009 nine substances have been added under the Stockholm Convention to the already listed „Dirty Dozen" Persistent Organic Pollutants, chemicals that are a source of concern because of their persistence, bioaccumulation, long-range environmental transport, and toxicity. The Stockholm Convention, established in 2001, is a global and legally binding agreement to protect health and the environment from pesticides, industrial chemicals, and unintentional POPs. To date, 169 countries are party to the Convention.


Now at the expiry of one year after the communication (dated 26 August 2009) the amendments adopted by the Conference of the Parties will enter into force on 26th August 2010. Following substances have been added to Annexes A, B or C of the Convention:

  1. Alpha hexachlorocyclohexane
  2. Beta hexachlorocyclohexane
  3. Chlordecone
  4. Hexabromobiphenyl
  5. Hexabromodiphenyl ether and heptabromodiphenyl ether (commercial octabromodiphenyl ether)
  6. Lindane
  7. Pentachlorobenzene
  8. Perfluorooctane sulfonic acid, its salts and perfluorooctane sulfonyl fluoride
  9. Tetrabromodiphenyl ether and pentabromodiphenyl ether (commercial pentabromodiphenyl ether

For the majority of the participating countries the nine new POPs will be automatically subject to global controls as of 26th of August, unless they specifically "opt out" till August. Others made a declaration in accordance with Article 25 paragraph 4 and need therefore to accept / ratify the amendments. These "opt in" - countries are: Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Botswana, Canada, China, Guatemala, India, Korea, Mauritius, Moldova, Micronesia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Vanuatu, Venezuela.

Canadian Minister Cannon tabled the amendments on 16 June 2010 in the House of Commons to signal the Government of Canada's commitment to ratifying the amendments. There is no deadline for the parties to opt-in.

The United States and the Russian Federation are non-parties to the treaty.


More on Stockholm Convention see:


For a map showing the participating countries and more information, see: